Skip to content

Draft of New course Evaluation Survey

April 17, 2017

Its teaching evaluation season… so here’s my idea for a new survey.

An online version of this course would be equally effective.

This class helped me to understand how to learn the material. 

This course was a waste of time.

In this class, I formed meaningful relationships with other students and/or instructors. 

I feel like my instructor cares about me.

This course was one of the best courses I’ve ever taken.

No one would notice if I were absent from class.

This course challenged me to reconsider how I think about certain topics.

Participating in this course makes me feel like being part of something.

I feel isolated and secluded in this class.

I feel a sense of responsibility to the students and instructors in this class.

I am valued as an individual.

If I had to miss class, I would feel like I missed out.

I feel excited about the things I am learning.

Most days I have a good sense of what we are learning and why.

I know what’s expected of me and what I need to do to be successful.

My instructor cares that we learn.

I am given opportunities to learn from my mistakes and failures.

Thoughtful reasoning is valued in this class.

You need to be one of the instructors favorites to do well in this class.

Students are treated with very little respect.

The instructor of this course regularly shows contempt and disdain for students. 

This is the type off course students take to get an easy A.

My instructor seems to put a lot of work and care into the organizing the course.
I wish I could take other classes with this instructor. 
Students wanting to really learn should avoid this instructor. 

I dreaded going to class.

This is the type of class that if you put in a lot of hard work, you will learn a lot.

This course was much better than I expected.

This class was disappointing. 

The grade I expect to get in this class will reflect my level of mastery of the material.

The instructor promoted a competitive atmosphere among the students that was damaging to morale.
Everything we learned in this class was disconnected and random.

I received meaningful feedback on the work I produced.

I am proud of what I’ve accomplished in this class.

I have nothing bad to say about this class.

I have nothing good to say about this class.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. ljatkins permalink
    April 17, 2017 8:53 pm

    I’ve been thinking a lot about the “implicit contract” in classes – what is the teacher required to do? what are the students? – and I think this survey is inconsistent with that contract. I would be curious to see what concerns instructors would have with a survey that looked like this – is it mostly “that’s not my job?” or “you can’t control for that?” ?

    • April 17, 2017 11:10 pm

      Agreed about the contract stuff. I think some of my questions would fly and others wouldn’t, or reasons why they wouldn’t fly would vary. I actually read these out loud to a colleague before I posted them here z

      • ljatkins permalink
        April 18, 2017 4:57 pm

        What did the colleague think?

      • April 18, 2017 6:06 pm

        They got it, because they know me. But if I had posed it as serious serious (rather than serious but satire) I’m sure there would be objections.

      • April 18, 2017 7:27 pm

        Another colleague thought they would tell you a lot, and felt that instructors who didn’t think these questions were fair are probably the instructors we don’t want anyway.

  2. chandraturpen permalink
    April 24, 2017 1:50 pm

    Have you piloted any of these items in your own class as optional questions that you can add to the end of the official form?

    • April 25, 2017 11:44 am

      I haven’t. These literally just popped in my head the other day and I wrote them down. It’s a good idea to try some of them out.

Leave a Reply

